Society's News

Notice of AGM, 20 November 2018

The Council and Executive of Bristol Law Society would like to invite all members of Bristol Law Society to the 148th Annual General Meeting to be held at 12 Colston Avenue BS1 4ST on 20 November 2018. We are pleased to attach a formal Notice of AGM for the purposes of conducting the business as set out in the attached … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

BLS Member discount offer on GCHQ certified Social Engineering Course – 8 August

Red Goat Cyber Security are offering Bristol Law Society members a 15% discount on their upcoming GCHQ certified Social Engineering course at Imperial College on the 8th of August. This interactive half-day cyber security course helps you identify and prevent social engineering attacks such as phishing and impersonation by placing you in the position of the hackers to enable you … more

Annual Awards Dinner – Shortlist of Nominees 2018

Congratulations to all the individuals, teams and organisations that were nominated with particular congratulations to those who were shortlisted by our independent judging panel. With more overall nominations than ever together with the outstanding quality of the nominations, it made for some very tough decisions for the judging panel!

Good Luck to all shortlisted candidates on 11th October! We look forward to celebrating with you!

Law Student of the Year
Xavier Baker, UWE
Siddique Pathan, UWE
Adam Pincott, UWE
Andrea Toller, UWE

Support Team Member of the Year
Dorina Cuciureanu, Simmons & Simmons
Evi Economou, Avon & Bristol Law Centre
Carol Priddy, Barcan+Kirby

Junior Lawyer of the Year
Becca Doman, Foot Anstey
Rachel Fisher, Stowe Family Law
Barbara Likulunga, Avon & Bristol Law Centre

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year
Melody Brown, Henriques Griffiths
Victoria Channing, Simmons & Simmons
Phillip Chivers, Osborne Clarke

CSR Firm of the Year
Burges Salmon
DAC Beachcroft
Simmons & Simmons

Chambers of the Year
Albion Chambers
Guildhall Chambers
St John’s Chambers

Lawyer of the Year
Robin Denford, Bristol City Council
Amanda Noyce, Royds Withy King
Katie Webber, Enable Law

Team of the Year
Avon & Bristol Law Centre
Civil Advocacy Team, Bristol City Council
VWV Approach, VWV

Law Firm of the Year (Under 15 Partners)
AMD Solicitors
Kelcey & Hall
Scrase Law

Law Firm of the Year (Over 15 Partners)
Osborne Clarke

President’s Outstanding Achievement Award
To be announced on the night