Society's News

Annual Quiz – is your firm the BLS masterteam of eggheads?

Always eagerly awaited, this year’s BLS quiz for general knowledge gurus, presided over as always by the genial Ben Holt, will take place on May 7th. In a change of venue, the quiz will now take place at The Station on Silver Street (near the Bridewell), where there will be refreshments. The Station was recipient of BLS Charity of the … more

New Fee Order 22/04/2014

On 22/04/2014 new fee orders will come into effect. This will apply to a number of court fees in the County Court, Family Court, High Court, Magistrates Court and Royal Courts of Justice, and to Judicial Review fees in the Upper Tribunal (Immigration & Asylum Chamber).     What does this mean for you?   From 22/04/2014, you will be … more

Personal Injury – Bristol

BLS1433 – Claimant PI- Catastrophic Injury – Solicitor/CILEX – Bristol  National Law firm with office in Bristol, are looking for a Personal Injury Solicitor, FCILEx or equivalent with significant experience of handling catastrophic injury claims to join their Complex Personal Injury team. The role will involve managing your own caseload of complex claimant personal injury files, the majority involving an element … more


photo 4

At the glittering Bristol Law Society Annual Awards Dinner held at the Bristol Marriott City Centre Hotel, President Nick Dell saw the presentation to awards in the following categories:-

Law Firm of the Year – Burges Salmon

Regional Law Firm of the Year – Temple Bright

Legal Aid Firm of the Year – South West Law

CILEX Award – Craig Tickner

Pro-Bono Award – Dr Michael Naughton, Ms. Gabe Tan, Mark Allum and Ryan Jendoubi (The Innocence Project, Bristol University)

Outstanding Achievement Award – Ian Kelcey, Kelcey & Hall

Junior Lawyer of the Year- Elaine Meyrick, Thrings.

Environment and Legal Sector Alliance Award – Gregg Latchams

Chambers of the Year – St John’s Chambers

Solicitor Advocate of the Year – Gillian Hall, Kelcey & Hall

In-House Lawyer of the Year – Diana Cummings, Taylor Wimpey

Congratulations to all winners. A full review and photographs will follow, but here are some early photographs to give a flavour of the evening.





Burges Salmon Law Firm of the Year Award


Craig Tickner CILEX Award


Diana Cummings In House Lawyer of the Year Award


Elaine Meyrick Junior Lawyer of the Year Award



Gillian Hall Solicitor Advocate of the Year Award


Gregg Latchams Environment & Legal Sector Alliance Award


Ian Kelcey Outstanding Achievement Award

Innocence Project Pro-Bono Award

Innocence Project Pro-Bono Award


South West Law Legal Aid Firm of the Year Award



St John's Chambers - Barrister or Chambers of the Year Award

St John’s Chambers – Barrister or Chambers of the Year Award


Temple-Bright Regional Law Firm of the Year Award