Society's News

Annual Quiz – is your firm the BLS masterteam of eggheads?

Always eagerly awaited, this year’s BLS quiz for general knowledge gurus, presided over as always by the genial Ben Holt, will take place on May 7th. In a change of venue, the quiz will now take place at The Station on Silver Street (near the Bridewell), where there will be refreshments. The Station was recipient of BLS Charity of the … more

President’s Update

BLS President Ben Tarrant rounds up his latest activities and looks forward to forthcoming BLS activities. The calendar of events at Bristol Law Society is now in full swing and we are about to enter a very busy period which started with the Managing Partners dinner at the end of March and ends with the annual awards dinner in October. … more

Personal Injury – Bristol

BLS1433 – Claimant PI- Catastrophic Injury – Solicitor/CILEX – Bristol  National Law firm with office in Bristol, are looking for a Personal Injury Solicitor, FCILEx or equivalent with significant experience of handling catastrophic injury claims to join their Complex Personal Injury team. The role will involve managing your own caseload of complex claimant personal injury files, the majority involving an element … more


One of the highlights of the Annual Bristol Law Society Dinner, to be held this year on Thursday 18th October at the Bristol Marriott City Centre Hotel, is the presentation of Awards to local members of the Legal Profession, recognising excellence.

There is still time to nominate colleagues into one of the many categories. The nomination form can be found here.

There is an award for In-house Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by Chadwick Nott, awarded to an individual, firm or company that is able to demonstrate a commitment and outstanding contribution to in house legal services. Last year the award went to Leigh Fisher-Hoyle of MITIE.

New for 2012 is the award for Solicitor-Advocate of The Year, sponsored by The Law Society, to be awarded to a solicitor who is able to demonstrate both an aptitude and excellence in advocacy.

We must not forget the other branch of the profession and awarded to either an individual barrister or set of chambers located in or around Bristol, that is able to demonstrate excellence in the provision of legal services is the award for Barrister or Chambers of The Year. Lansdowne Place are sponsoring this award, which last year was scooped by St. John’s Chambers.

Last year the Environment and Legal Sector Alliance Award, sponsored by Wessex Searches, was controversially shared between Gregg Latchams and Burges Salmon. Will either of them win this year outright or will a new firm be the winner?

The Pro Bono Award was won last year by Tony Cherry of DAC Beachcroft, who is nominated for a national Law Society Excellence Award. Sponsored by the ADR Group, the award recognises a firm or individual who can demonstrate a commitment to the supply of pro bono work for the benefit of an individual, organisation or local community.

Awarded to either an individual or firm that has demonstrated an
exceptional contribution to the legal community, their firm and/or clients, the Outstanding Achievement Award recognises contributions that go beyond the norm. Last year’s winner, Paul Rumley of Withy King, is also shortlisted for a national Law Society Excellence award. Wesleyan For Lawyers have kindly agreed to sponsor this prestigious award.

The College of Law has sponsored the Junior Lawyer of the Year Award, which last year was won by Leon Smith of DAC Beachcroft. Leon is now Secretary of Bristol Law Society, serving the local legal community with distinction. Is there a junior lawyer in your firm who is deserving of nomination?

Paragon Costs Solutions are the sponsors of the CILEX Award, which recognises an individual CILEX member for excellence or to a firm able to demonstrate support and commitment to its employees qualifing as a Chartered Legal Executive. Judith Gordon-Nicholls, also of DAC Beachcroft, received this award last year. Nicholas Lee of Paragon has written a feature article in this month’s Legal Life highlighting the work of Paragon.

TNT Post is the sponsor for the Legal Aid Law Firm of The Year Award, which last year was awarded to Kelcey & Hall. The award recognises a firm or legal advice provider who can demonstrate a commitment to publicly funded work and the continuance of access to justice.

Veale Wasbrough Vizards won the Regional Law Firm of the Year Award in 2011. This year we are looking for nominations for the local firm that is able to demonstrate a significant contribution
either within the law or the local legal community, its employees or otherwise. Lloyds TSB Commercial is the sponsor of this award.

Finally, but most importantly, is the Award for Law Firm Of The Year. Scott Law, the office supply experts, are the sponsors for this award, and tension will be high on the night to see which firm will succeed TLT as winners. Perhaps you should ensure that you nominate your firm for this award?

All will be revealed when the envelopes are opened on the evening of Thursday the 18th October.