Society's News

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

The President’s Charity of the Year 2017/18

                      Please see Freewheelers Leaflet 2017 for the fabulous work these volunteer riders undertake to assist the NHS in moving vital supplies and equipment  around the county. Who knows which one of us or someone we know may have already benefited from their amazing work?

BLS Member discount offer on GCHQ certified Social Engineering Course – 8 August

Red Goat Cyber Security are offering Bristol Law Society members a 15% discount on their upcoming GCHQ certified Social Engineering course at Imperial College on the 8th of August. This interactive half-day cyber security course helps you identify and prevent social engineering attacks such as phishing and impersonation by placing you in the position of the hackers to enable you … more

Here are the winners …..

At the sold out Bristol Law Society Annual Awards Dinner, BBC Correspondent Clive Coleman hosted the Awards ceremony which gave out awards from a competitive shortlist. The judges deliberated long and hard, burning the midnight oil, until finally decisions were made.

Congratulations go to everyone nominated, shortlisted and most of all to those winners representing the cream of the Bristol Legal Profession in 2015. And the winners are:-

Law Student of the Year (sponsored  by Wessex Searches)

Sarah Carter (University of Law)

Support Team Member of the Year (sponsored by Damar Training)

Amanda Jennings (Barcon +Kirby)

Junior Lawyer of the Year (sponsored by UWE)

Zina Ruffino (Watkins)

CiLEX of the Year (sponsored by Bristol Law Society Recruitment)

Sarah Goodridge (Withy King)

Pro Bono Individual of the Year (sponsored by The University of Law)

Rebecca Stevens (Withy King)

CSR Firm of the Year (sponsored by DPS Software)

Irwin Mitchell

Barrister of the Year (sponsored by Legal Cost Finance)

Leslie Blohm QC (St Johns Chambers)

Chambers of the Year (sponsored by Hobs Reprographics)

St Johns Chambers

Solicitor of the Year (sponsored by Paragon Costs Solutions)

Daniela Nickols (Mowbray Woodwards)

Law Firm – up to and including 15 Partners – of the Year (sponsored by Willis)

Barcan + Kirby

Law Firm -over 15 Partners -of the Year (sponsored by Lloyds Bank)

Osborne Clarke

Bristol Law Society would like to thank its sponsors of the night, The University of the West of England,  Milsted Langdon, St John’s Chambers, Guildhall Chambers, Sounds Commercial, What’s Right CIC, and Albion Chambers.