Society's News

Corporate Members 2022

3PB Albion Chambers Ashfords Barcan + Kirby Beale & Co Bevan Brittan BLM Burges Salmon Clarke Willmott CMS CMNO DAC Beachcroft The Family Law Practice Foot Anstey (including Enable Law) Freeths Fussell Wright GL Law Guildhall Chambers Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Lyons Davidson Marc White & Co Meade King Osborne Clarke Paragon Costs Solutions Queen Square Chambers Royds Withy King Simmons … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

BLS Annual Awards Dinner 3rd November 2022

Check out our digital Awards Brochure with a welcome from our C0-Presidents, full details of the award categories and links to our wonderful supporters who make this event possible. We look forward to celebrating the best of the local profession with you on 3rd November! BLS Awards 2022 Digital Brochure Nomination Brochure 2022 Nomination Online Submissions Booking Form 2022

Annual Awards Dinner nominations announced

The shortlisted nominees for Bristol Law Society’s 2013 Awards have now been announced. We would like to congratulate everyone that has been nominated.

The Annual Awards Dinner sponsored by University of the West of England will be on Thursday 10 October 2013 at Bristol Marriott City Centre Hotel.

To reserve your ticket/table please contact Valerie Squire on or 0117 976 3087.

The shortlisted nominees are:


President’s Outstanding Achievement  – sponsored by The Law Society

  • David Woodward, TLT
  • Robert Bourns, TLT
  • Richard Barcan, Barcan Woodward


Solicitor of the Year – sponsored by Paragon Cost Solutions

  • Ian Kelcey, Kelcey & Hall
  • Richard Harries, Barcan Woodward
  • Jeremy Dickerson, Burges Salmon


In House Solicitor of the Year –  sponsored by Wesleyan for Lawyers

  • Leighton Hazell, Computershare (Previously Bank of Ireland)
  • Tom Clifton, Imperial Tobacco
  • Kate Anthony-Wilkinson, Mulberry


Junior Lawyer of the Year – sponsored by Bristol Law Society Recruitment

  • Scott Silbereis, Clarke Willmott
  • Alison Batchelor, Withy King
  • Edward Boal, Gregg Latchams


Sole Practitioner of the Year –  sponsored by Prime Professions

  • Amelia Leung, Leung & Co
  • Rupert Scrase, Scrase Employment
  • Sean Campbell, Codobo Law


Chartered Legal Executive of the Year –  sponsored by Moneypenny

  • Sarah Goodridge, Withy King
  • Geoff Goulding, Wards
  • Tristan Williams, Burges Salmon
  • Sarah Cross, Osborne Clarke


Barrister of the Year –  sponsored by Lansdown Place

  • Dr Simon Fox, No5 Chambers
  • Tanya Zabihi, 3 Paper Buildings
  • Michael Fitton QC, Albion Chambers
  • Andrew Kearney, St John’s Chambers


Law Firm of the Year (Up to 15 partners) –  sponsored by Lloyds Bank SME Banking

  • Cook & Co,
  • Bennetts
  • Gregg Latchams


Law Firm of the Year (More than 15 partners) – sponsored by No5 Chambers

  • Bond Dickinson
  • Veale Wasbrough Vizards
  • Foot Anstey
  • Osborne Clarke


Chambers of the Year  – sponsored by Smith & Williamson

  • St John’s Chambers
  • Guildhall Chambers
  • Albion Chambers


Legal Aid Firm of the Year  – sponsored by Guildhall Chambers

  • Avon & Bristol Law Centre
  • Watkins Solicitors
  • Barcan Woodward


Corporate Social Responsibility  – sponsored by Wessex Searches

  • DAC Beachcroft/Guildhall Chambers
  • Barcan Woodward
  • Withy King
  • Burges Salmon


Non Fee Earner of the Year  – sponsored by Scott Law

  • Antonia James, Veale Wasbrough Vizards
  • Lee Reed, TLT
  • Rebecca Balsom, Veale Wasbrough Vizards
  • Samantha Lee, Bond Dickinson


Law Student of the Year  – sponsored by UWE

  • Clizia Motterle, University of Law
  • Elffin Farnon-Turner, UWE
  • Lisa Hanson, UWE


Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year – sponsored by The University of Law

  • Tom Woodhams, University of Law
  • Sarah Green, TLT
  • Phillippa Morgan, Lyons Davidson



We would like to wish each and every nominee the very best of luck.

Ashley Palminteri

President, Bristol Law Society