Society's News

Corporate Members 2022

3PB Albion Chambers Ashfords Barcan + Kirby Beale & Co Bevan Brittan BLM Burges Salmon Clarke Willmott CMS CMNO DAC Beachcroft The Family Law Practice Foot Anstey (including Enable Law) Freeths Fussell Wright GL Law Guildhall Chambers Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Lyons Davidson Marc White & Co Meade King Osborne Clarke Paragon Costs Solutions Queen Square Chambers Royds Withy King Simmons … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

BLS Annual Awards Dinner 3rd November 2022

Check out our digital Awards Brochure with a welcome from our C0-Presidents, full details of the award categories and links to our wonderful supporters who make this event possible. We look forward to celebrating the best of the local profession with you on 3rd November! BLS Awards 2022 Digital Brochure


One of the highlights of the Annual Bristol Law Society Dinner, to be held this year on Thursday 18th October at the Bristol Marriott City Centre Hotel, is the presentation of Awards to local members of the Legal Profession, recognising excellence.

There is still time to nominate colleagues into one of the many categories. The nomination form can be found here.

There is an award for In-house Lawyer of the Year, sponsored by Chadwick Nott, awarded to an individual, firm or company that is able to demonstrate a commitment and outstanding contribution to in house legal services. Last year the award went to Leigh Fisher-Hoyle of MITIE.

New for 2012 is the award for Solicitor-Advocate of The Year, sponsored by The Law Society, to be awarded to a solicitor who is able to demonstrate both an aptitude and excellence in advocacy.

We must not forget the other branch of the profession and awarded to either an individual barrister or set of chambers located in or around Bristol, that is able to demonstrate excellence in the provision of legal services is the award for Barrister or Chambers of The Year. Lansdowne Place are sponsoring this award, which last year was scooped by St. John’s Chambers.

Last year the Environment and Legal Sector Alliance Award, sponsored by Wessex Searches, was controversially shared between Gregg Latchams and Burges Salmon. Will either of them win this year outright or will a new firm be the winner?

The Pro Bono Award was won last year by Tony Cherry of DAC Beachcroft, who is nominated for a national Law Society Excellence Award. Sponsored by the ADR Group, the award recognises a firm or individual who can demonstrate a commitment to the supply of pro bono work for the benefit of an individual, organisation or local community.

Awarded to either an individual or firm that has demonstrated an
exceptional contribution to the legal community, their firm and/or clients, the Outstanding Achievement Award recognises contributions that go beyond the norm. Last year’s winner, Paul Rumley of Withy King, is also shortlisted for a national Law Society Excellence award. Wesleyan For Lawyers have kindly agreed to sponsor this prestigious award.

The College of Law has sponsored the Junior Lawyer of the Year Award, which last year was won by Leon Smith of DAC Beachcroft. Leon is now Secretary of Bristol Law Society, serving the local legal community with distinction. Is there a junior lawyer in your firm who is deserving of nomination?

Paragon Costs Solutions are the sponsors of the CILEX Award, which recognises an individual CILEX member for excellence or to a firm able to demonstrate support and commitment to its employees qualifing as a Chartered Legal Executive. Judith Gordon-Nicholls, also of DAC Beachcroft, received this award last year. Nicholas Lee of Paragon has written a feature article in this month’s Legal Life highlighting the work of Paragon.

TNT Post is the sponsor for the Legal Aid Law Firm of The Year Award, which last year was awarded to Kelcey & Hall. The award recognises a firm or legal advice provider who can demonstrate a commitment to publicly funded work and the continuance of access to justice.

Veale Wasbrough Vizards won the Regional Law Firm of the Year Award in 2011. This year we are looking for nominations for the local firm that is able to demonstrate a significant contribution
either within the law or the local legal community, its employees or otherwise. Lloyds TSB Commercial is the sponsor of this award.

Finally, but most importantly, is the Award for Law Firm Of The Year. Scott Law, the office supply experts, are the sponsors for this award, and tension will be high on the night to see which firm will succeed TLT as winners. Perhaps you should ensure that you nominate your firm for this award?

All will be revealed when the envelopes are opened on the evening of Thursday the 18th October.