Society's News

Corporate Members 2022

3PB Albion Chambers Ashfords Barcan + Kirby Beale & Co Bevan Brittan BLM Burges Salmon Clarke Willmott CMS CMNO DAC Beachcroft The Family Law Practice Foot Anstey (including Enable Law) Freeths Fussell Wright GL Law Guildhall Chambers Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Lyons Davidson Marc White & Co Meade King Osborne Clarke Paragon Costs Solutions Queen Square Chambers Royds Withy King Simmons … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

No 12, The Meeting Rooms – Conference, Meeting and Mediation Rooms for Hire

Please note that the BLS office is shut to members at present as we continue to work from home during the pandemic.  Bristol Law Society’s suite of conference and meeting rooms including a suite of mediation rooms are conveniently located in the centre between the Waterfront Area and the Old City in a modern building situated on the corner of … more

Awards Winners at BLS Annual Dinner

Bristol Law Society’s Annual Awards Dinner was held on Thursday 10 October 2013, at the Marriott City Centre Hotel. We would like to congratulate everyone that was shortlisted for an Award.

The winners of the Awards were as follows:

President’s Outstanding Achievement sponsored by The Law Society

David Woodward, TLT

Solicitor of the Year sponsored by Paragon Cost Solutions

Jeremy Dickerson, Burges Salmon

In House Solicitor of the Year sponsored by Wesleyan for Lawyers

Leighton Hazell, Computershare (previously Bank of Ireland)

Junior Lawyer of the Year sponsored by Bristol Law Society Recruitment

Scott Silbereis, Clarke Willmott

Sole Practitioner of the Year sponsored by Prime Professions

Rupert Scrase, Scrase Employment

Chartered Legal Executive of the Year sponsored by Moneypenny

Geoff Goulding, Wards

Barrister of the Year sponsored by Lansdown Place

Michael Fitton QC, Albion Chambers

Law Firm of the Year (Up to 15 partners) sponsored by Lloyds Bank SME Banking

Gregg Latchams

Law Firm of the Year (More than 15 partners) sponsored by No5 Chambers

Osborne Clarke

Chambers of the Year sponsored by Smith & Williamson

Guildhall Chambers

Legal Aid Firm of the Year sponsored by Guildhall Chambers

Watkins Solicitors

Corporate Social Responsibility sponsored by Wessex Searches

Barcan Woodward

Non Fee Earner of the Year sponsored by Scott Law

Rebecca Balsom, Veale Wasbrough Vizards

Law Student of the Year sponsored by UWE

Elffin Farnon-Turner, UWE

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year sponsored by The University of Law

Philippa Morgan, Lyons Davidson

Ashley Palminteri, President of Bristol Law Society said:

“Congratulations to each of the winners. We had more nominations this year than ever before. The standard of the entries was very high and the winners were rightly applauded in front of 360 of their peers and colleagues. This is the fourth year that we have hosted an Awards ceremony and each year their popularity has grown”.

Here is a link to a story about the dinner in Bristol Business News