Society's News

Corporate Members 2022

3PB Albion Chambers Ashfords Barcan + Kirby Beale & Co Bevan Brittan BLM Burges Salmon Clarke Willmott CMS CMNO DAC Beachcroft The Family Law Practice Foot Anstey (including Enable Law) Freeths Fussell Wright GL Law Guildhall Chambers Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Lyons Davidson Marc White & Co Meade King Osborne Clarke Paragon Costs Solutions Queen Square Chambers Royds Withy King Simmons … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

BLS Annual Awards Dinner 3rd November 2022

Check out our digital Awards Brochure with a welcome from our C0-Presidents, full details of the award categories and links to our wonderful supporters who make this event possible. We look forward to celebrating the best of the local profession with you on 3rd November! BLS Awards 2022 Digital Brochure Nomination Brochure 2022 Nomination Online Submissions Booking Form 2022

BLS AGM bids farewell to Ben Holt and welcomes Co-Presidents Erin Sawyer and Edd Thompson in progressive move

The BLS AGM was held on 16th November and in a move reflecting that both Erin Sawyer and Edd Thompson will have very young family responsibilities over the coming two years, the two will share the role and responsibilities of President over the two year term. BLS is delighted to be able to support such a progressive change in our 251 year history and we very much look forward to supporting and working with them both in the next two years.

We would also like to say a thank you to Ben Holt, who gamely took on the President’s role for two back-to-back terms during the pandemic – not an easy task or one he anticipated but it allows him to be the only consecutively twice appointed President in our history – an unprecented move or twice- presidented move as he likes to say!

Thanks also to former President Nick Lee who finishes his time on Council after many years of service and also to Jonathan Peacock, our Treasurer who has also stepped down. We thanks them both for their time and effort in supporting BLS over the last few years. We simply could not do it without our volunteer lawyers.

Welcome to our new officers, Rachel Fisher who comes in as Treasurer and Stuart Henry who joins us as Junior Vice President.

You can read Ben Holt’s AGM speech here providing his overview of the last year and  Erin Sawyer and Edd Thompson speeches setting out briefly their hopes for their co-presidency.

L to R Coralie McKeivor, Hon Sec; Stuart Henry, Junior Vice President; Edd Thompson and Erin Sawyer, Co-Presidents; Ben Holt, Immediate Past President; Rachel Fisher, Treasurer