Society's News

Corporate Members 2022

3PB Albion Chambers Ashfords Barcan + Kirby Beale & Co Bevan Brittan BLM Burges Salmon Clarke Willmott CMS CMNO DAC Beachcroft The Family Law Practice Foot Anstey (including Enable Law) Freeths Fussell Wright GL Law Guildhall Chambers Irwin Mitchell Solicitors Lyons Davidson Marc White & Co Meade King Osborne Clarke Paragon Costs Solutions Queen Square Chambers Royds Withy King Simmons … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

No 12, The Meeting Rooms – Conference, Meeting and Mediation Rooms for Hire

Please note that the BLS office is shut to members at present as we continue to work from home during the pandemic.  Bristol Law Society’s suite of conference and meeting rooms including a suite of mediation rooms are conveniently located in the centre between the Waterfront Area and the Old City in a modern building situated on the corner of … more

BLS Annual Awards Dinner – 2019 Shortlisted Nominees!

Congratulations to all the individuals, teams and organisations that were nominated with particular congratulations to those who were shortlisted by our independent judging panel. With more overall nominations than ever together with the outstanding quality of the nominations, it made for some very tough decisions for the judging panel!

Good Luck to all shortlisted candidates on 24th October! We look forward to celebrating with you!

Law Student of the Year
Maisie Dodds – The University of Law
Samuel Louwers – UWE
Emily Rigler Gillingham – University of Bristol

Support Team Member of the Year
Jane Emanuel – Bristol Law Centre
Danielle Ienna – Irwin Mitchell
Kirstie Stacey – DAC Beachcroft

Diversity, Inclusion and Wellbeing Award of the Year
DAC Beachcroft

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year
David Curwen – Unity Street Chambers
Amelia Handoll-Clark – Simmons & Simmons
Sarah Phillimore – St John’s Chambers

Junior Lawyer of the Year
Cecily Donoghue – Gregg Latchams
Rachel Fisher – Stowe Family Law
Pinja Tenhunen – Barcan+Kirby

Legal Innovators Award of the Year
In-house Lawyers – Gregg Latchams
Jonathan Spencer – Simmons & Simmons
My OnStream – VWV

Chambers of the Year
Albion Chambers
Guildhall Chambers
Queen Square Chambers
St John’s Chambers

Lawyer of the Year
Gus Silverman – Irwin Mitchell
Jemma Slavin – Stowe Family Law
Heledd Wyn – Gregg Latchams

Team of the Year
Clinical Negligence – Barcan+Kirby
Corporate Team – Osborne Clarke
Property Team – AMD Solicitors

Community Engagement Law Firm of the Year
DAC Beachcroft
Gregg Latchams
Osborne Clarke

Law Firm of the Year (under 20 Partners)
Gregg Latchams
The Family Law Practice

Law Firm of the Year (Over 20 Partners)
Osborne Clarke
Simmons & Simmons

President’s Outstanding Achievement Award

To be announced on the night