Society's News

Notice of AGM, 20 November 2018

The Council and Executive of Bristol Law Society would like to invite all members of Bristol Law Society to the 148th Annual General Meeting to be held at 12 Colston Avenue BS1 4ST on 20 November 2018. We are pleased to attach a formal Notice of AGM for the purposes of conducting the business as set out in the attached … more

BLS features in Bristol Post oldest thriving companies in Bristol

Excerpt from the article: How Bristol’s oldest companies are still thriving after more than 100 years in business They include the city’s last-surviving chocolate maker a wine merchant and a tannery. Why do some companies struggle to survive beyond a year while others flourish for hundreds? Although more than 90 per cent of small companies in Britain will survive one … more

BLS Member discount offer on GCHQ certified Social Engineering Course – 8 August

Red Goat Cyber Security are offering Bristol Law Society members a 15% discount on their upcoming GCHQ certified Social Engineering course at Imperial College on the 8th of August. This interactive half-day cyber security course helps you identify and prevent social engineering attacks such as phishing and impersonation by placing you in the position of the hackers to enable you … more

President & Council

Gary Lightwood Elected as New BLS President 2017/18

Gary Lightwood was elected President of Bristol Law Society at the 147th AGM held at 12 Colston Avenue on Tuesday 21st November 2017.

The members of Bristol Law Society elect a President and two Vice Presidents annually at the AGM in November. The President’s role is to represent the Society and the Bristol legal sector and to manage Council and Executive in implementing the policies of Bristol Law Society during the year.


Executive Group 2017-18:

President: Gary Lightwood, Pattinson & Brewer

Senior Vice President:  Nicholas Lee, Paragon Cost Solutions

Junior Vice President:  Ben Holt, Veale Wasbrough Vizards

Immediate Past President: Becky Moyce, Temple Bright LLP

Hon. Secretary: Katherine Moyse, Foot Anstey

Hon. Treasurer: Ben Holt, Veale Wasbrough Vizards

Executive Chairman: John Moriarty

Head of Operations: Helen Read


Council members 2017-18:

Coralie McKeivor, Foot Anstey

Sarah E Green, TLT

Leon Smith, DAC Beachcroft

Leonie Parkin, Computershare

Joanne Campbell, Veale Wasbrough Vizards

Julian Kinsey, Womble Bond Dickinson

Michael Gupwell, Wards Solicitors

Erin Sawyer, Irwin Mitchell

Katherine M King, Burges Salmon

Gareth Malna, Burges Salmon

Jonathan Peacock, Veale Wasbrough Vizards

Karen Stuart, Simmons & Simmons

Owen Mason, Daniel Woodman & Co

Edward Thompson, Mowbray Woodwards (Also Bath Rep)

Marc White, Marc White and Co


Special Member: (following December 2017 Council meeting ratification)

Janis Purdy, Hon Sec ASWLS (Association of South Western Law Societies)


Co-Opted Members: (following December 2017 Council meeting ratification)

Ashley Palminteri, The Family Law Practice

Scott Silbereis, UWE

Chris Wrigley, Osborne Clarke


Law Society Member Ian Kelcey, Kelcey & Hall


Invited Representatives, Non-Council:

Rav Hothi, Sarah Richards, James Shepherd, SW Region, The  Law Society

Toby Huggins, Unity Street Chambers & Bar Representative

Rachel Fisher, Stowe Family Law & JLD Chair

Sarah Goodridge, Royds Withy King & CILEx Chair (Bristol Branch)

Dagmar Steffens, UWE

Kerry-Anne Effiom, Avon & Bristol Law Centre, Pro-Bono Representative